Kde som:  Katalóg  >  Vyhľadávanie

The terror of living a novel

Nájdených:    6 produktov

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

James Joyce's first novel, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man is a Kunstlerroman which chronicles the emotional and intellectual development of Stephen Dedalus - a character partly based on the author himself - from his early childhood and his school and university days all the way to his first forays as a young artist. Dedalus's thoughts and epiphanies reveal the tensions, insecurities and feelings of guilt that are the product of living in a country and period so deeply divided along rel...

The Makioka Sisters

'An exquisite novel about four sisters living though a turbulent decade...I'd put it in the 10 greatest books of the 20th century' David Mitchell 'A near-perfect novel' Hanya Yanagihara

Life Of David Hockney

With clear, vivid prose, this meticulously researched novel draws an intimate, moving portrait of the most famous living English painter. Born in 1937 in a small town in the north of England, David Hockney had to fight to become an artist.

The Secret History

Truly deserving of the accolade "Modern Classic", Donna Tartt's novel "The Secret History" is a remarkable achievement - both compelling and elegant, dramatic and playful. Under the influence of their charismatic classics professor, a group of clever, eccentric misfits at an elite New England college discover a way of thinking and living that is a world awayfrom the humdrum existence of their contemporaries.

When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur's stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose. screamso that one daya hundred years from nowanother sister will not have todry her tears wonderingwhere in historyshe lost her voice The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn't always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while livi...

Bio Design

Designers and artists have always looked to nature for inspiration and materials, but only recently have they been able to alter and incorporate living organisms in their work. In a world with finite resources and a growing population, design that mimics or appropriates the sustainable template of nature is likely to prove as vital as it is novel.